Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SOT: Cam question for CIS, general concept
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Dr Evil
I am intending on placing a 3.0L CIS system on a punched out 3.1L corvair engine. My desire is to have better fuel economy and better low end torque. I can pick a com for the better low end, but I am not sure what cam I need to consider for the CIS. So my question is, would a cam designed for a turbo be smoother than one designed for carbs alone?
The 260 grind cam I am looking at is a good street cam with low end tq like I want and is mild, but it is also recommended for the turbo motor.
Todd Enlund
I am far from an expert, but my understanding is that CIS doesn't like valve overlap, which it causes pulses in the intake and disrupts the airflow meter.
Dr Evil
That is correct, but I know nothing about how much and if a turbo cam has overlap typically, or if I should even care. I can put the specs up if that would help, but I go to dig them up first.
Todd Enlund
Again, I am far from an expert, but my understanding is that turbos typically do not have valve overlap because of the back pressure of the turbo impeller.
Dr Evil
That is my assumption smile.gif
Root_Werks
Look at the profile for a 964 cam. People have put those into 2.7 and 3.0's with CIS. I guess they work really well and add umhf!
Dr Evil
I guess I could have done that, I put SC cams in my 2.7 CIS rebuild after all (duh) rolleyes.gif I forgot about that.
scotty b
Um the CIS is from a 3.0 SC

the Corvair is a 3.1

so um how about a 3.0 SC grind wacko.gif
Dr Evil
Oh sure, I will put an SC grind on the CORVAIR cam......OR, I could just buy a good new cam that is not gonna be a hassle tongue.gif

Eat me, poon magnet
scotty b
Chim Chim not like you. Go back in you hole susage grinder.
Justinp71
You could have John Dougherty regrind the cams, he did mine for $275. I got his DC19 spec for my '81 3.0 CIS motor.

www.drcamshafts.com biggrin.gif
Joe Bob