Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Suspension Suggestions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jetboy
First off, I am a 914 and a mechanic NooBie. I am more used to my suspension on my heavy 4dr hatchback and trying to get the teener to handle closer to or better than my daily driver (toyota matrix).

I recently bought my first 914 and its a '73 1.7l. Its as far as i can tell just stock suspension without sways. Doesn't appear to really have any sagging, so, i don't really see much that is worn out (again, i know little about working on cars so i wouldn't really know how to tell if it was worn out). It is sitting on 195/60 15 touring tires (pretty flexy sidewalls). With this settup i notice some "floating" when jerking the steering wheel back and forth in a straight line and body roll with the rear end breaking loose at about 55mph on a 30mph turn (best way i can gauge the handling).

Now my question.
I'm wanting to make the handling more neutral. Could this be done with just uping the torsion bar rate (maybe a 19 or 21) without a front sway and then increase the rear spring to about 140lb? I think some more performance oriented tires would help with this too. Im looking for streetabilty with increased performance. My grocery getter (mind you, I am very used to the handling of my matrix which is lowered with coilovers and settup pretty neutral for a heavy fwd 4dr hatch) can take this corner at about 65mph before even thinking about pushing (which happens before oversteer with her).

I am sure that the teener can do better than this, Im just not sure where to start. Anyone got any ideas? And, if there is anyone in the Riverside, Ca area that knows about setting up the suspension wanna get together over some coffee or eats and chat about 914s sometime... feel free to send me a PM and we could set something up. driving.gif
McMark