Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: NEWBIE WITH Q's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
bangingears
Hello, My names Adam, for years I have wanted a 914 and, low and behold I believe this is the year ill be getting one! I know I want a street legal go cart, I have several years of experience building type 1 motors, and this is why i chose this car (similarity...however more ?'s on that later)..... i figure for suspension I am going to do the following
Front sway bar
Koni sport shocks with rubber bump stops
Rebel racing rear coil overs
Tangerine racing chassis stiffin kit
and build a full cage for Chassis Rigidity.

here is where I feel alittle out of the loop.... i did alot of research and from 3 different machine shops, recieved three different answers.... one... said all 1.7 1.8 and 2.0 cases are the SAME...and interchange parts (i know they are wrong... the bore size on each case is different) second said, the cases are the same, however the 1.7 and 1.8 ONLY need cylinder bore inlarged... and the third said all 3 cases where different. So wats the real answer????

And FInally.... where do you guys go for performance parts? I.E, counterweight cranks, rods, pistons, valves? Porting? ... whats the best performance shop to go to?

Please if you can help at all please share your opinion.

thank you!
r_towle
The 914 motor came in three sizes.
the 2.0 liter has a 71mm stroked crankshaft.
the 1.8 liter and 1.7 liter have a 66mm crankshaft.

The outer dimension of the cylinders for each 1.7, 1.8, and 2.0 liter are all the same size. No case machine work is needed for stock cylinder swaps. Because the crank sizes are different, the pin height on the 1.7 and 1.8 liter pistons is different than the 2.0 liter pistons. The rod length is also different.