Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: colorsanding
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dw914er
Well, i had my car painted about a year and a half ago, clearcoated it, but never competely finished it due to a busy schedual. Next week, when i get home i plan on finishing it by colosanding/polishing the paintjob, then claybar/wax the car.

anyone have any tips for colorsanding? This is my first attempt, so im not really too sure what to do, but I want that paint to be smooth.

Thanks
jasons
Soak the paper for at least 30 minutes before you start. Drop a little dish soap in the water. It offers a little lubrication.

Use a soft block. One of those foam ones, that shapes to the panel.

I doubt you need to clay-bar. Its really to strip contaminants off the paint before you polish/wax. Since you are sanding your surface, you shouldn't have any contaminants.

Try to go in one direction. Don't sand in circles, just sand back and forth, with the natural lines of the panel.

One more thing, are you using a rotary polisher? (as opposed to one of those orbital things)
dw914er
orbital, but i need a different end for it.
So.Cal.914
Something we used to do was to put masking tape on all sharp edges(like the

small lip on the fender) . This way when you are sanding the large field and

inadvertantly hit that lip you will not wear off the paint that can be a little thinner

on sharp corners. Then you come back and carefully sand those areas. Do the

same thing when you polish. Just a sudjestion.
dw914er
what grit sandpaper should I use too?
sww914
You can come to my house before next Wed. and I'll show you what to do. I'm about 15 minutes from Poly.
I've done it for 20 years.
roadster fan
QUOTE(sww914 @ Jun 6 2008, 12:05 PM) *

You can come to my house before next Wed. and I'll show you what to do. I'm about 15 minutes from Poly.
I've done it for 20 years.

If you pass on this offer good luck with your project. Nothing better than getting a demo from a pro.