Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Looking at a 914
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
turnaround89
I found a 914 near me and am going to look at it but want some other opinions since i am new to 914's. I emailed the person selling the car because he said the motor was rebuilt but not running and he replied with this,

"We mounted the engine in the car after the rebuild but did not complete installing the injectors and ignition control unit or anything else. So we never attempted a restart after the rebuild."

Anyone think this would be a bad car to start with? It is the 2.0liter engine and he is asking 2500obo, car looks to be in good shape from the pictures but i am going to go and look at it in person next week, to see the hell hole, etc. Please help!!
markb
welcome.png

Check out the search function. There have been a lot of threads about this. Good luck, and keep us updated. It would help if you posted a bunch of pictures before you make your purchase, and if you gave us a lot more info on the car.
SGB
hmmmm.
$2500 is not much if the rest of the car really is OK. How long has it been sitting? Outside or inside?

WELCOME TO THE MONKEY HOUSE!!!!
carr914
I think this is the car in question. The "rebuilt engine"? and rust scared me

T.C.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment
carr914
Some more pics. So It needs rust repair, paint, motor work and who knows what else?

T.C.

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

ericread
From the pictures, the rust in the "longs" indicates a major project. Even more troubling is the engine rebuild comments. Who goes to all the trouble of rebuilding an engine just to decide at the last minute to not fire it up? The whole fun of a rebuild is to hear it run. I would suspect the "rebuild" is suspect.