Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Just some random garage talk....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dbgriffith75
So I've rebuilt the engine in my '75 during this resto. Tore it completely down to splitting the case and replaced all bearings and gaskets and what not, but I haven't had any work done that would modify the timing such as grinding down the crank or cam. So theoretically speaking, if no work has been done to modify the timing, and I know I lined up the timing marks on the crank and cam correctly, the timing should still be OK, shouldn't it? There's no play in the valves, rocker arms, or pushrods, so I don't see why it wouldn't. But I'm no porsche expert, so is there something else that would affect it in a rebuild? It'll be quite a while before I get the engine put back in and try running it again, I'm just curious. Don't want to try firing it up if there's something else I need to check first.

I was also wondering what I might use to repair the firewall mat. The one I've got is in good shape other than a few tears. I keep thinking blackjack would work but I doubt that's a good way to do it. Seems to me the engine heat would just melt it off. Any suggestions?

And why is it that when you tear an engine down for a simple thing like replacing piston rings, you find yourself making incredibly stupid mistakes? In my defense [before I get into the whole story] on average, I'm up for 18 hours a day. I work nights, and w/ my current projects [the 914 resto & motorcycle] I only have time to work on them before I go into work. So the fiancee gets me up around 8-9 AM before she leaves for work, I drive to my folks house [it's the only garage I have] work on this stuff all day, then go to work until 2 AM, getting in bed around 3.

For those of you that read my post on the motorcycle I'm working on, here's one of the most hilarious stories you'll probably ever hear... erm, read: