Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: car stalled in rancho cucamonga
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
will
hi everyone,
I have a fellow club member stuck on miliken just south of the 210 freeway in rancho cucamonga. His car won't start. He said it could be the starter. I am not a mechanical person so I can't help him much.
If you can help, call his cell phone 626-372-7232.
thanks.
Heeltoe914
Calling or try me at 818 266 7774
ericread
I just fired up my computer and saw tjhis posting. Spoke to the guy and he told me once the car cooled a bit it started right up.

Anyway, everything is OK now.

Eric
dyw914
Thanks to Will, Leamon and Eric for the concern. I got a tow back and off course, the car started again once home. I'll need to go through the wiring or look into getting a new starter.

Thanks again.
Wanna9146
Lesson learned? Don't go to Rancho Cucamonga! smile.gif

Seriously, though...did you try push-starting? I know heat-soak is an issue with 911's...any similar issues with 914's?
Joe Bob
Whack the solenoid with a stoopid stick....works all the time.

I was at the GAF concours a couple of years ago before the club meltdown and a 914/6 was stalled out....the guy needed to move it. Beautiful ride, wouldn't move....I asked him if he had anything heavy and hard....he handed me a crescent wrench....WHACK!!!!

Crank it....VROOOOM...or whatever a stock 100hp six sounds like....

Guy moved it and didn't even say thanks.....

Has happened to me even with an upgraded 1.5hp SR68X starter....
dyw914
Thanks for the advice. I did whack it with a crescent wrench but guess I didn't whack it hard enough. Did some research on the board and think I'll bypass the seatbelt relay then look into cleaning/replacing the wires from the battery to the starter and maybe get a starter relay to prevent future problems.
markb