Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 944 turbo
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
minnesota loon
any advice on a 1988 944 turbo? there is one for sale near me 7000$ its clean looks fun. I have not driven it yet but hope to soon. what do i need to know?
melnyk
im no expert but i think they have problems with ball joints, they are part of the a-arm and the whole arm must be replaced. i could be thinking of something else confused24.gif
also i think timing belts and air pockets in the cooling system are problems. like i said im no expert. i was going to buy one of these a few years back and i forget what i heard from people...
BMartin914
Look for a well maintained car, one that needs a lot of little stuff will bury you in the end.

Important things are timing belt intervals both replacement and re-tension as well as documentation on when things like rollers and tensioners and the water pump/thermostat were replaced. Belts (cam drive and balance shafts) are 30K mile replacement and re-tension every 10-15K.

Turbos have a lot of additional plumbing that the N/A cars don't - like coolant hoses and air/vacuum hoses. Look at these for signs of cracking, etc. (there are a lot of little hoses and they aren't all easy to get to).

They are very nice cars if maintained. My experience is they've got too much turbo lag and are too slow off the line for where I drive...which is why I sold mine. They are fantastic on the interstate though!
r_towle
I was speaking with a guy who has one yesterday.
He mentioned that the early ones are becoming hard to find certain parts for.
Just check to see if you can find all the parts...still.

Rich
scotty b
QUOTE(r_towle @ Aug 11 2008, 04:44 PM) *

I was speaking with a guy who has one yesterday.
He mentioned that the early ones are becoming hard to find certain parts for.
Just check to see if you can find all the parts...still.

Rich