Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Front trunk latch cable
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jnp914
The release cable for the front trunk latch, along with that POS pot metal threaded handle, went TU. A quick perusal of the catalogs does not show any availble for the 914, but both the inner cable and handle are listed for the 911 and at a very inexpensive price.

Will the 911 cable and handle fit?
Eric_Shea
I just took mine off while installing the GT Oil Cooler Shroud. It's off a 74. Need one?
jnp914
oh, OH! Gimmee!!!!

Sandy, Ut, huh? I graduated from Weber State.
echocanyons
I graduated from Weber State.
]

You mean Harrison High school? wink.gif

Me too, then went on to UofU
Eric_Shea
I won't hold that against either one of you laugh.gif

Tis your's... e-mail me your address. Got anything I need?
andys
Speaking of the front trunk release, mine is hugely difficult to pull. The latch itself is fine (disassembled, cleaned, lubed, works fine), and the cable pulls very easily when disconnected from the latch. When the two are hooked together, it's difficult to pull again. Doesn't matter whether the trunk is open or closed. Everything *appears* to be in order.....any secrets?

Thanks,

Andy
seanery
Look to see if the plastic housing is broken/cracked anywhere. Mine is that way and it's a hard pull (and doesn't spring back correctly). Look in the unexposed places too.
Eric_Shea
Boxed and ready to go...

I have the plastic tube seperate if someone needs that.

E.
seanery
Is it flexible?
Eric_Shea
Is it flexible?

Kinda sorta...
jnp914
ummm...did this conversation just change direction or what?

perverts
FlatSix
Speaking of the front trunk release, mine is hugely difficult to pull.

I have exactly the same trouble. There was a tech article a while ago (maybe on the PP board). I followed that and it made a very tiny difference, but it did not solve the issue.