Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Changing From Boge Strut to Bilsteins Insterts
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
dale 914
Okay,
I am still learning, be gentle.
I bought a nice used pair of green Bilstein strut inserts to replace my shot front struts. After taking out the exiting strut housing (4 stud), I realized the diameter of the Bilstein insert piston is larger than the old Boge(?) and I cannot resuse the threaded insert retention ring that screws into the strut housing.
What can I do?
Thanks
Dale unsure.gif
hcdmueller
Sorry but I have to ask. Are the Bilstein struts brand new? Did they come with the appropriate mounting parts? (threaded retention ring and such) Are the Bilstein strut inserts the right ones for the Boge struts? Pictures?
dale 914
QUOTE(hcdmueller @ Aug 17 2008, 04:36 PM) *

Sorry but I have to ask. Are the Bilstein struts brand new? Did they come with the appropriate mounting parts? (threaded retention ring and such) Are the Bilstein strut inserts the right ones for the Boge struts? Pictures?

The inserts are not new nor did they come with any hardware, I got 2 green Bilsteins in great condition that I purchased off 914World. I don't have any pics, sorry.
hwgunner
Bilstein makes an insert specifically for the boge strut housing. So the answer is No but you got the wrong inserts beerchug.gif .
SGB
Yeah, 'cept I think the inserts you got are correct. You just did not get the threaded strut cap. Bummer. Contact Bilstein?
dale 914
QUOTE(SGB @ Aug 17 2008, 09:25 PM) *

Yeah, 'cept I think the inserts you got are correct. You just did not get the threaded strut cap. Bummer. Contact Bilstein?

Yup, I am planning on calling Bilstein today.

Thanks.

Dale
dale 914