Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: New to the 914 world...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pacmariner
Hello all, I'm brand new to the magical world of the 914. I've always been a fan of them, and it APPEARS my dream is about to come true. I've found one locally, and am going to look at it in a few days. Its a 1975 1.8. I'm not a motor head, and was hoping to get some advice on what to look out for, or for signs of danger...

I look forward to getting to know people...

Thanks,

Kyle[i]
turnaround89
welcome.png

First piece of advice, is use the search function. the problem areas of the 914 are covered extensively here. Lots of smart and very helpful people. I am 19 and just bought a 914 about a month ago, blast to drive and you get lots of looks from everyone!

The longs, hell hole, and battery tray are the ones people look for for rust issues. Does the car run or is it a project?
rufio0205
QUOTE(pacmariner @ Aug 18 2008, 04:39 PM) *

Hello all, I'm brand new to the magical world of the 914. I've always been a fan of them, and it APPEARS my dream is about to come true. I've found one locally, and am going to look at it in a few days. Its a 1975 1.8. I'm not a motor head, and was hoping to get some advice on what to look out for, or for signs of danger...

Thanks,

Kyle[i]

Here is some advice from an 18 year old who bought one at 17 and has only driven it for a week...and it has been a year...

Look at one with someone who has experience with them. Look over the car really closely for rust. Drive the car, feel the transmission out. Inspect beneath the carpets for rusty floors. Inspect the trunk and battery area for rust.

Don't be fooled by "pretty" paint jobs...IMHO the better the paint job the worse condition the rest of the car...Make sure you have ample time and money to spend and invest into the car.