Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help for a new kid here?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pacmariner
I'm brand new to the world of 914s. I'm so new that I'm getting my car this weekend. I'd love some help/ideas on getting a little more power out of my 1975 1.8. I've heard that they're the weakest of the power options. I'm a total beginner when it comes to working on cars, but would love to try and learn.

Thanks,

Kyle
sww914
Unfortunately there's no magic bullet for a 1.8. You can get a few more HP if you convert it to carbs and headers, but at the expense of gas mileage, easy starting, and some say reliability.
The way to get some real performance out of a 1.8 is to do a complete rebuild. The low compression and low performance cam are the bottleneck that keeps it from building more power. The cam is in the center of the engine, it's not like a Small Block Chevy or a Honda where the cam's relatively easy to get to and the low compression pistons must be replaced to raise compression. If you go very much higher on the compression or you put a much larger cam in there, the FI goes out the window. You just can't adjust the FI enough to run with anything too radical.
sww914
BTW,
welcome.png welcome.png welcome.png
type47
welcome.png

get 2 jobs, open wallet, take out huge sums of cash, call Raby...
914werke
Dont let these guys scare ya. smile.gif
welcome.png & the PNW group.
Go 1911!!
If the Motor is in good shape and not already worn to
frags a simple P&C swap, slight tweasing of your FI
(it was still Fuel Injected?) and good exhaust will deliver
solid SOTP gains. aktion035.gif
turnaround89
Start taking unneeded things off the car to lower the weight of the car. Not adding horsepower to the engine like you want to, but creates a better power to weight ratio!
KELTY360
welcome.png