Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Taking the plunge
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
knuckledrgr914
I am a new 914 owner and have just started trying to get it road worthy. It is a '74, 1.8 liter, and fuel injected. Now for the noobie question...

After running the car around the neighborhood, I came home with a fuel leak. I found one of the hoses, leading to what I assume is one of the injectors, was split open. I replaced the hose which stopped the gas leak.

Now comes the problem... My car now fires, runs for approximately 40- 50 seconds, and then quits. It does not matter if it is just idling, or if I am giving it some juice... It just quits. I turn the key off, turn it back on and it will fire again after a couple revolutions!

Any idea why changing out the bad fuel line would cause this behavior? As you can tell, I am just learning the mechanics of the 914 so be kind and send lots of pictures (of how to resolve the problem that is ohmy.gif)

Thanks in advance,
Brad
Cap'n Krusty
Look for vacuum leaks, the most common problem with L-jet cars like yours. Be sure BOTH seals in the oil filler cap are there and in good condition. BTW, you DID use 7.5mm metric FI rated hose, right? Next is to determine the state of the tuneup stuff. Points (physical condition, gap, dwell, and timing), the cap and rotor, the air and fuel filters, the spark plugs, and, MOST IMPORTANTLY, the valve adjustment. A well tuned car is a happy car. Use only genuine Bosch electrical parts, although NGK spark plugs would be OK.

Best of luck! The Cap'n
knuckledrgr914
QUOTE(Cap'n Krusty @ Aug 29 2008, 07:26 PM) *