Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Remote Oil Filter
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
scoobykvn
I am fixing a PO problem with the add on remote oil filter. The original mounting (or lack there of) was with sheet metal screws to the firewall near the heater tube inlet on the passenger side. I am trying to figure out a good place to mount it and looking to see what others have done. Pics would be great. Thanks for any help given.
URY914
This doesn't answer your question but what's wrong with the stock location? You have to get under the car to drain the oil anyway.

What type of remote filter bracket are you using? How do the lines feed in and out? Only side only? Both sides?
scoobykvn
I will take some pictures tonight when I get home from work. I am new to 914's so I don't know how the filter mounts originally. Can someone give me a good picture of this? Would it be easy and somewhat cheap to convert it back to original mounting?
URY914
Cheap? It should be free.

You may even make money on the deal if you sell the remote parts. biggrin.gif
Mark Henry
QUOTE(URY914 @ Sep 12 2008, 11:28 AM) *

Cheap? It should be free.

You may even make money on the deal if you sell the remote parts. biggrin.gif

He also asked if easy...we're talking engine drop here.
Or taking the fan shroud off in the car...nice rolleyes.gif

Find a better mounting spot, maybe longer hoses.
URY914
Why would he have to drop the engine or take the fan housing off to remove the remote filter pieces? I would doubt that this is a full flow system. Probably a spin on hose fitting to the stock filter mount. These are pretty common.
scoobykvn