Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: I want to drive my 914 but it dont work!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
JOE M
I cant seem to get my carbs synced up correctly. I have tried everything but no luck. Let me start by saying I have Weber Redline IDF 40`S. They are the old style with the bigger pumps if that matters. I forget what the the jet size is but I done think thats my problem. I had Rich take a look a month ago or so and if I remember right he said that the size looked about right. I have zero experience with carbs so I am totally in the dark. I did buy a new gasket set and it came with new pumps and some o-rings. It also came with a new float valve. Where I am now is that the car starts right up and idles the balls. It sounds great but as soon as I put it in gear and give a little gas is bogs down. I have the air mixture screws all the way in and the spring loaded screws (not the idle adjust) about 2 turns out.I know that all 4 cylinders are about the same because I have a syncrometer and they all measure about 6~7 on the flow meter. I remember Rich advising me to make th adjustments with the linkage off so thats what I did. All I want is to be able to drive this thing around the block with out it farting and burping. The only thing that should cause farting and burping is beer. If anyone has any thing to offer please help.I am a desperate man and ready to get rid of this thing. Serious I will never get rid of it but I do want to understand better about how to get it to run correctly.I will deal with all the other little things later but my main goal is to get it on the street and have some fun.
r_towle
QUOTE(JOE M @ Sep 15 2008, 08:39 PM) *

I have the air mixture screws all the way in and the spring loaded screws (not the idle adjust) about 2 turns out.

did you get the book on webers?
You are flooding it. It loves gas at idle, but you are not providing enough air with the screws all the way in....