Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Newbie looking for vehicle selection help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pjku79
I am new to the 914 world. I just got done finishing my 356 replica (someone else started and didn't finish). Now I am looking for something I can drive around on a some what daily basis and get good mpg. I don't really have much background on the 914s. I just know it is one that I can actually afford to start with.

I am looking for a list of things to consider when looking for a car to buy. What areas are know to rust? Things that might break. Etc....

Also, if any of you know of good deals on car in the San Antonio area let me know. I noticed at least one posting in the classifieds for a car in near me (San Antonio, TX). I have also seen a few on craigslist.

Thanks
Pete
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(pjku79 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:41 AM) *

I am new to the 914 world. I just got done finishing my 356 replica (someone else started and didn't finish). Now I am looking for something I can drive around on a some what daily basis and get good mpg. I don't really have much background on the 914s. I just know it is one that I can actually afford to start with.

I am looking for a list of things to consider when looking for a car to buy. What areas are know to rust? Things that might break. Etc....

Also, if any of you know of good deals on car in the San Antonio area let me know. I noticed at least one posting in the classifieds for a car in near me (San Antonio, TX). I have also seen a few on craigslist.

Thanks
Pete

Pete,

You are seriously welcomed to this group! welcome.png

To pick a 914 as a daily driver, given its minimal 33 year age, MAY be a challenge. I say MAY because things continually find a way to go south on any car this age.