Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: new fan of 914's
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
pwregan
HI ALL,
As you can tell by the topic of this post i am new to these auto's and was looking to find out if any particular years were better than others
mechanical?
cosmetics?
i will be looking for my first to buy soon and any info would be apreciated

thank you.
patrick

southernmost914
It depends on if you want a 6 or a 4cly. and how much you are looking to spend. welcome.png

Steve
PeeGreen 914
agree.gif It also depends on how much you are going to pay. You can get a very nice stock 2.0l or buy a conversion 6 for close to the same amount.

What do you want to spend, what to do with the car (Track, autocross, or daily driver), and what are you use to driving?

welcome.png
Todd Enlund
The less rust, the better. Check the "hell hole" area under the battery, the floor pans - especially the rear, the rear trunk right in front of the taillights, the front trunk floor, the cowl where the fenders meet, the jack posts - especially the passenger side, the bottom edge of the sail panels...

Everything else is "nice to have".

'73 2.0 is typically regarded as the most desirable 4 cylinder.
mskala
In the northeast I think you have much less to choose from than for
example southern CA.
Pat Garvey
QUOTE(mskala @ Oct 3 2008, 06:35 PM) *

In the northeast I think you have much less to choose from than for
example southern CA.

Not necessarily. I know of a very nice one than hasn't been in the wet since 1978.

Could be that it's "available".
PanelBilly
Welcome to our crazy world.

You have three choices now:
Watch from the side lines and laugh at us.
Buy some other kind of car and just "drive" it.
Buy a 914 and join the fun

pete-stevers
beware the rust in the hell hole area!!
have your goals figured before you buy
if you are looking to convert to a six, or if you just want a stocker
do you want flares....glass or steel