Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: D/E suspension set up. looking for feedback on my current idea
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
LarryR
I am not going to go way overkill (at least I think I'm not)

I have put together several 911 suspensions but this is my first attempt at a 914 so please poke holes in my ideas where you see fit. Since my car will see limited street use (maybe 2K miles a year tops) I want it to be more slanted for the track. However, I am used to setting up 911's as stated but since the 914 is more of a neutral car to begin with I am a little confused on what 'staggered' rates to go with if any.

I am thinking right now to go with the following:

Front:
23.5 mm front torsion bars with Bilstein sport inserts
The complete front suspension that I have is off an SC so I thought I would just leave the SC sway bar on there. I will just use Derlin bushings

Rear:
This was more difficult to decide b/c trying to interpret effective rate of torsion bars and convert it to coil over spring rates. However, I found this site:
http://www.tech-session.com/kb/index.php?article=39
It is a 924/944 site but I think they have similar weight distributions to the 914.

Based on what I read I think the rear will be:
500 # rear springs with with this set up:
http://www.patrickmotorsports.com/part/467/
600 bucks for bilstein rears with adjustable coil overs and springs seems reasonable?

However, reading the snipet that is included in that advertisement makes me believe that the 500# is way off base. Does this mean that 23.5 mm fronts are way over kill for the front of a 914? That is what I used to run on my 67 911.

Lastly, does anyone make adjustable sway bars for the 914? It seems like if I put the SC bar on the front I should put something more than the stock 914 bar on the rear or is that good enough? Maybe run something smalle than the stock SC bar on the front?

Ok this is windy enough for a first pass.

Larry
d914