Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tire Recommendations
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
nebreitling
Hi everyone

i'm a newbie to this list, and to 914's in general (actually, i drove one for a summer 8 years ago and loved it, but that's another story). just bought a '75 2.0 in pretty good condition. the previous owner barely drove it except when he autocrossed it, so the car has some 3/4 worn kumho victoracers on it. Obviously, no street tire is going to compare with the grip these give, but i'm going to need more tread wear than these offer. does anyone have suggestions for a tire with a good trade off between performance and wear? i'll be using the car to joy ride through the mountains, run jaunts around town, and occasionally for a light commute (hopefully in that order!). thanks so much,

nathan
Brad Roberts
Check with TireRack and see if they have any Yokohama AVS intermediates left over. They had a blow out sale a few months back for 47$ apiece. You wont find a better all around tire for your 914. Buy them in a 205/60/15 or 195/60/15 depending on what wheels you have.

If TireRack doesnt have them... I know where 50 sets are stashed here in NorCal.

B
tod914
I recently put yoko avs es 100 - 195 60 15 on mine - real happy with the tire. little more than 47 a piece though. Brads recommendation sounds good.
Brad Roberts
Do you have a pic of your tires (a ad for them or something) ?? I would like to see the "100" design.

B
Elliot_Cannon
Another new guy here. What wheels will go with the 205 15s and what wheels are recommended for the 195 15s. What is the difference??
Cheers, Elliot blink.gif
Brad Roberts
Welcome Elliot !!

The wheel I like to use with the 205 (or the 195) is the Factory Fuchs alloy. The tire installer will HATE you if you purchase a 205/50/15 and have them installed on the Fuchs. Its a stretch to make them work on the 5.5 inch wide wheel.

B
seanery