Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Fuel Cell Installation
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
MikeSpraggi
I'm new to this and am looking for advice and direction for installing a fuel cell. I've purchased a 15 gallon ATL cell that I want to intall on the floor of the front trunk in my '70 soon to be six conversion.

I only have the cell, foam, fill plate and can. What I need help with is regarding what picks up the fuel inside the cell. I haven't seen any part that is called a fuel pickup on the ATL website. I really don't know what I'm looking for. Also, how would I (or can I) set up a fuel level guage similar to the stock guage, that is, a guage inside the car. This will primarily be a track car. Any help is appreciated. Thanks
degreeoff
Hey Mike,

I used a cheap rci cell for mine. Picture are on the progress thread of mine. I know it came with a pickup on the top. I had to drill another on the bottom to keep my pump primed. Yours may be on top to. wait and see?

You ought stop by sometime as I am in Bowie....

Josh

Does yours look like this?

Click to view attachment
drew365
I don't know how much this will help you, but here are some pics of my installation. You need to know the ohm rate of the sender that is in your cell. You then need to use a fuel gauge that works within that ohm range. Mine was 0 to 90. I was unable to get my stock gauge to work but did get another working and mounted it in the dash where my heater controls used to be.

Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
Click to view attachment
MikeSpraggi
Josh, I would like to come by, you're real close by. PM me with day/time I can stop by. I think I've found the fuel pickup on the ATL site. They have a number of Duck Foot pickups. I'm sure there's one for my cell.

Mike

QUOTE(degreeoff @ Oct 15 2008, 06:30 PM) *

Hey Mike,