Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Help Missfire crazy rpms
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jc914
Long story short last night toke out the car to South Beach b/c the night was nice and cool. I drove the car for like a total of about 2 hours. with no problems even toke the car up to 90MPH.

This morning i went to go fill her up with gas after i filled her up 10 minutes later the car starts to stutter heavily, from the exhaust it sounds like popping fireworks and gun shots fighting19.gif (missfiring). Finally the car stall. I waited about ten minutes and it started again with the same thing RPMs go up and down and she starts the sturring again. I had to keep her on first gear and at 10 MPH to get home.
Note> when i start the engine the rpms go up and down from 1-5 rpms.... and it will not idle

I am not a mechanic please help.........
sad.gif unsure.gif sad2.gif confused24.gif
blitZ
Perhaps, you got some bad gas.

Nothing personal.
So.Cal.914
Points and condenser or EI?
jc914
I have the pertronix ignitor ignition, it has never given me a problem. i will have to look it. The pertronix was installed like six years ago
ericread
QUOTE(jc914 @ Nov 6 2008, 08:04 AM) *

I have the pertronix ignitor ignition, it has never given me a problem. i will have to look it. The pertronix was installed like six years ago

My experience with Pertronix is that it's a go/no go type of product. I have never seen an intermittant or misfire situation with a Pertronix unit.

Eric Read
degreeoff
It may be the toke'n' that you be smokin... smoke.gif av-943.gif

sorry had to do it!

Most likely a ignition issue
I'd check to see if any wires are shortin out or just replace if you can....
Josh
jc914