Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Welding gas cylinder, what size?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ipozestu
I'm about to put a '75 in the air that's been sitting in my garage for a year. This will be my first crack at rust repair. The Hell hole and lower long area is where the most attention is needed.
I'm new to welding, I've picked up so much information here I feel pretty good about starting this.
I picked up a Lincoln 3200HD off craigslist for $200. I've got a regulator, now I need a cylinder. What size should I get? I was looking at a 20lb bottle available on craigslist. It was designated as CO2. Is that the right bottle? Can it be filled with mix gas? Should I get something bigger?
Tips. tricks, comments, suggestions?
Thanks
cobra94563
I have a similar welder and I got the 40CF. It last pretty long, but I had to refill a couple times already.
Places will exchange tanks on fills unless you wait for "your" tank be filled.

I got mine off ebay - if you can't find one on craigslist. I was good quality, but it didn't matter once exchanged.
dakotaewing
Buy the biggest bottle you can afford -
The cost difference to refill is minimal, and if you go
with a small bottle, you will run out on a saturday afternoon, and
not be able to exchange until the following Monday. Left with a whole weekend of
welding to complete, and no way to get it done...

just my .02 -

TE
Wes V
I believe that the bottle has to be bought from the company (welding supply shop) where you are planning on exchanging it.

It's kind of like those Rhino propane bottles. You "buy" the initial one and then from that point on just exchange it for a full one when it gets low. (you can exchange up to a larger one at a latter date)

I live in L.A. and I don't think there is anywhere that will re-fill a bottle from an "un-known" source.