Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: help! need advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
maxincolorado
hey first and foremost im new to the world of 914's, but ive been an avid aircooled vw fan for 2 years now(im 18 now). so here's my question. what should i look for when buying a 914? what years engine size fuel injection or carbs? im planning on making it my daily driver/hill climb car. i can bore out engines for performance but i was wondering if there is a bolt on turbo kit or do you have to fabricate all the header tubing etc. looking foreward to gain some knowledge from the wise 914 owners
Dave_Darling
The main things to look for:

1-- rust
2-- rust
3-- some sort of engine
4-- rust
5-- four wheels attached somehow
6-- rust

...You thought Bugs rusted? 914s may even be better at it than them.

Fuel injection is original; carbs are easier for some people to deal with, an are typically more compatible with lumpy cams.

There is no turbo "kit" currently offered, but a few people have put together setups that have worked well.

You can build any size Type IV engine on any Type IV crankcase, so don't stress too much on exactly which engine you start with.

--DD
plymouth37
Like Dave said look out for rust, rust, and most important of all rust. There is a ton of information on the site, by using the search feature you should be able to find an answer to any question may have. Also check out the "914 info" section (there is a link at the top of the page) for more info on engine years and options.
Oh and welcome.png
johannes
When you buy the car check for rust.
When you improve the engine check for big $
Gint
welcome.png

agree.gif ...what they said...

Sign up for the Colorado-914 email list. The local gang will help you out. Click the link in my sig.
brant
Hi Max,

definitely they rust
changing a motor is simple compared to repairing rust
definitely join the colorado local group

where in colorado are you???? denver?

brant in colorado