Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Turbo Tie Rods
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
mojorisen914
If I am wanting to upgrade the original tie rods; is there anything else needed to do this other than a Turbo Tie Rod Kit?

All help is appreciated folks.

Thanks.
914Sixer
I am not an expert but I think that is it. There maybe custom stuff that may be adapted.
Gint
Actually, if you buy the Lemforder units they are complete with everything you need. There are no modifications to be done to install them.
blitZ
Definitely get the kit with the Lemforder ends, anything else is crap. This is a good time to install a bump steer kit if you might lower the car at some point.
mojorisen914
Where's a good place to purchase this? Also, I'm putting new rear springs on and Bilsteins all the way around; this shouldn't interfere with that should it?
Eric_Shea
bye1.gif

You need to make sure you get the "kit" as well because it contains the spacer washers. There was a discussion a while back on these.

They will not interfere with anything.
wbergtho
Lemforder ends

What the hell is a Lemforder end? I just bought a turbo tie rod kit off E-Bay for $126 + $15 shipping and now you've got me worried I don't have the hallowed Lemforder units! av-943.gif popcorn[1].gif I assume it is the German manufacturer.
Eric_Shea
You have to be "very" careful with the eBay ones.

The rubber boots are not protected and they split in about 4 weeks. This leaves your newly purchased tie rod exposed to the elements or worse yet... allows the elements to gather behind what's left of the rubber boot.

Learn from my mistakes. I had to purchase two new Lemforder ends and guess what the price ended up being on the bargin units? Same as the real deal.

Go with Lemforder for sure. Serious.
wbergtho
Are the Lemforder ones marked as such? Can you buy replacement rubber boots?
Eric_Shea
Lemforders come in a blue box marked as such.