Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: OT: Need good advice from car veterans
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
ninefourteener
Greetings....

Not having much luck on all my Subie forums.... of course, the average age of Subie forum members is about 15.... so that certainly explains it smile.gif I always revert back here..... primarily because we've got a bunch of "old" guys wink.gif

Just bought my 3rd Subie.... and it's my first attempt at trying a "classic" Subaru. Figure I run my own Subie website.... might as well bring something different to the meets, particularly a subie that's older than half my members. I've owned NUMEROUS antique GMs, and a couple 914s as well..... but they both have a STRONG support system... Subaru doesn't for the older cars.

Just bought a 1st year, first generation Subaru Brat. It's a rusty turd... buit the price was phenomenal... and you can't argue with the rarity of a 1st generation brat... they are almost IMPOSSIBLE to find.... I had to have it.

Runs.... but barely
rusty
lots of mods planned

I have a "direction" I want to go. Obviously a WRX engine is in the future, and I already have the EA to EJ engine/tranny adapter secured..... not a problem there.

I more interested in finding suspension parts, wheels, fender flares, etc.

Looking to go W I D E with the wheels and tires... and a decent set of flares will allow me to do that... it'll also allow me to cut out quite a bit of rust and save some work. I'l like to go with old school Nascar style steelie black wheels... a 16, possibly a 17 inch...... but try and find a set that has a 4X140 lug pattern... good luck. Any suggestions?

Also... I've found flares for a Brat... except they look like moster truck flares. I want to go the opposite direction..... lower.... not higher. Any suggestions?