Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Why do valves need adjusting?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
kpfoten

I'm a relative newbie when it comes to engine rebuilding, the physics, mechanics, etc, but I'm fascinated by it all and have been reading up on how it all works...

I've done my share of valve adjustments, but the thought came to mind--why do we adjust valves? Is it a combination of heat and wear that causes them to need adjusting? Does spring fatigue have something to do with it??

Its a combination of heat and wear mainly, the valve stem and tappet obiously wear, but the valve wears into the valves seat, and over the period of about 3,000miles the valve and valve seat where enough to remove your clearance, or your tappet and valve stem wear faster and then theres too much clearance
ericread
Accordint to Auto Atlanta:

"Proper valve adjustment is critical to proper engine operation. Since the 914 engine is air cooled, it operates in a much broader temperature range than a water cooled car, resulting in more extreme expansion and contraction. This movement necessitates periodic valve adjustment."

Eric Read

kpfoten
Thanks!

I would assume that air cooled motors (even though with valves regularly adjusted) need the heads re-done sooner over time?
Cap'n Krusty
QUOTE(kpfoten @ Nov 25 2008, 12:39 PM) *

Thanks!

I would assume that air cooled motors (even though with valves regularly adjusted) need the heads re-done sooner over time?

Not particularly. BTW, spring fatigue has come up before, and it's not a possible answer, because the valve is a fixed length, the spring retainer is in a fixed location, and any tension at all will cause the valve to be fully closed at rest. Note I said "closed", not "sealed". The Cap'n
VaccaRabite