Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Quick Carb Question
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
MattR
Im sitting here trying to rebuild my 40 IDFs I got last week, but I realize they are different carbs. I find the stamping, and one says "40 IDF 13" and the other "40 IDF 15". I guess there are different series? I saw in the Haynes manual there was a 28 adn 29 series that was closer to the 44 IDFs then the 40s, but I see no mention of the 13 and 15 series. Are they compatable with my 2.0? What modifications, if any, are necessary to make? Do I need new carbs??? Thanks!
914ghost
I'm not an expert but that may just mean right and left. They changed the numbers later on, and some say 40IDF xxL or 40IDF xxR or something. I had a set and the numbers didnt match either.
Use the right jetting and vent's and you should be okay.
I would say as long as its a 40 IDF who cares?
Rebuild em' and drive.
You can tell if you have the early ones or late ones by the style of accelerator pump. One has an
eccentric "flipper" and lever (early) to activate the pump, and I think one has a more common style rod&linkage. I don't know if one is better.
Bob O

And You'll get different opinions, but if you have a correct 2.0 w/ the right heads and valves, 40 IDF's are a teeensy bit small. You can make them work, but you may have to go as big as you can on vents, and I don't know if even then you'll get max out of the engine. Make sure you get a good professional opinion on jetting for your combo, 40IDF's work great on a 1600/1700 VW bug, so I don't know about a 2 liter.
maf914
Matt, Ghost is probably right about the numbers indicating left and right carbs. I questioned similar numbering on my carbs and found that was the case. I won't worry about it.