Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Side shift
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tag
I’m a newbie and I keep hearing about how a side shift transmission is better, is side shift just the linkage setup (replacement) or is it a different transmission altogether? What parts are required to setup a side shift? I just bought a Porsche 914 and I’m getting a list together of parts that I want to purchase in January. Thanks is advance!
type.gif
rick 918-S
welcome.png I guess that's the theory. On the other hand, if your transaxle is in good condition and shifting smoothly, then your good. The problem as I see it is the dog foot wears and becomes sloppy. Otherwise, new shift bushings and proper adjustment usually fix both tail shift and side shift problems on both axles. These are not Muncie rock crushers but they are both good reliable transaxles.
GeorgeRud
I'd also agree that if you replace the shift bushings and the transmission is in good shape, you'll be fine.

If you can get a good deal on a sideshift transmission and linkage, it is a nice upgrade, but I wouldn't spend a whole lot of money on the conversion. You have to replace everything from the shift knob on, so it's not a cheap conversion unless you find all the parts at a great deal.
So.Cal.914
agree.gif I have a tail shift in my 72 and it has been fine. I put a shortshift kit in about 10 years ago and it helped...And was cheap.
tag
QUOTE(GeorgeRud @ Dec 28 2008, 06:35 AM) *

I'd also agree that if you replace the shift bushings and the transmission is in good shape, you'll be fine.

If you can get a good deal on a sideshift transmission and linkage, it is a nice upgrade, but I wouldn't spend a whole lot of money on the conversion. You have to replace everything from the shift knob on, so it's not a cheap conversion unless you find all the parts at a great deal.

Thanks for the info biggrin.gif
Eric_Shea