Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rear brake drags (sometimes) Advice?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Porsche Rescue
When I got the car the right rear e-brake cable was disconnected from the caliper. Now I know why. The brake drags but not always. I intend to check the venting clearance first but it seems to me that if that is the problem it should not come and go. Is it likely that something is hanging up in the caliper (e-brake mechanism? pistons?) or could the cable be sticking sometimes? Or all of the above? Any advice appreciated.
Mark Henry
"The brake drags but not always."

One suspect could be an old brake line hose that has swelled shut, it would push fluid through but it won't return proper.
mike_the_man
Could be a sticky e-brake cable. Or, could the spreader spring be missing/broken? I'm not sure how much they really do, in any case. Just a couple of suggestions. I am by no means a brake expert. (I still haven't got mine working right)
RocknRollFrenzy
if it only drags when the cable is connected, then the problem is definitely in the e-brake linkage somwhere....i'd start by checking the cable. could be sticking/catching on something......pull out your drivers seat and take off the little cover just in front of where the cable runs through the fire wall. you might find that one side is pulling more than the other at the linkage here. you might also make sure that you're releasing the e-brake lever all the way. it could just be that your hand is bumping into something from time to time and you think its released before it really is. its a pretty tight space, and i've had that problem a couple times......hand bumps into the floor/edge of the seat before the brake is released all the way.