Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: need some advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
i love porsche
so, i have this roller sitting in my garage, ive got lots of parts for it, ive got sweet wheels. the roller is completely stripped and primed so it wont rust..but it needs tons o body work.

ive had this car since high school..it was my dream to restore it and race it....i graduated college in may and have put some money into it...but the total amount that i will need to even get it back on the road is quite intimidating to say the least. I definetly have an emotional attachment to the car..but i also somewhat have regret for not buying a running project in the first place....yeah, ive never ever driven it, or another 914 for that matter.

so im going through this in my head....im looking to move out of my parents place in about a year (saving as much as i can now) ill have my truck paid off in about a month, and i want a second car that is fun. since i sold my 924S, i really miss being in a porsche and REALLY miss the left pedal.

im very tempted to dump this project and save up for a bit then get another 914...that would be the sensible thing to do right? but the rising prices of the 914s have been a bit intimidating to me...i dont want to spend a fortune.....but i know i want to be in a 914.

i feel like im rambling now...i have this urging to get rid of my project car and go buy a running car....but im just reluctant to...i think i need some convincing.

oh yeah, did i mention that ive never driven a freaking 914! whats up with that!
Mark Henry
I've restored many cars, as I was in the biz and never did I see a project come out cheaper than if the person just went out and bought a good running car. In the past I even told peeps to go get a bank loan so that they could get a finished runner. At least they would be driving and even with the interest most would still be ahead.