Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: backdate 76 GC heads to 73-74 GA or GB heads
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SuperDave
I'm a newbie here. I've tried searching pelican and here to no avail. My apologies if this has been covered before...
I am very close to buying a 76 2.0 to replace the 1.7 in my 72. The 2.0 still has the original heads and emissions equipment. I've read enough to know the emissions equipment made the car run hotter and less efficiently and my state (Oklahoma) doesn't require it so I'm planning on removing the air injection.
Three questions:
Are 73-74 heads a bolt-on for the GC engine?
If so, would I gain anything by replacing my 76 heads with GA/GB heads or should I just fill in the holes like was discussed in a recent thread?
I've heard the valve sizes are different between 73-74 and 75-76 heads, but haven't been able to verify this. True or false?
Thanks!
David
SLITS
Nothing I have seen or read indicates any valve size difference on the 2.0 heads.

Only difference I know of is the lack of breather ports and the addition of air injection holes in the exhaust ports. Air injection holes can be plugged or welded up. Breather ports can be added as the boss is still cast into the heads.

I've swapped them back an forth.

In other words , save your money and work with the late heads.

Now, there is a big difference between 2.0L BUS heads and 2.0L 914 heads.
SirAndy
QUOTE(SLITS @ Mar 3 2009, 10:36 AM) *

Nothing I have seen or read indicates any valve size difference on the 2.0 heads.

Only difference I know of is the lack of breather ports and the addition of air injection holes in the exhaust ports. Air injection holes can be plugged or welded up. Breather ports can be added as the boss is still cast into the heads.

I've swapped them back an forth.

In other words , save your money and work with the late heads.

Now, there is a big difference between 2.0L BUS heads and 2.0L 914 heads.

agree.gif with Schlitz ...