Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dialing in dual webers
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
neil30076
1.7 with big bore to 1911cc, 2 x 40 IDF's and CB linkage - problem is that the linkage design is such that you can never set it up right so that both carbs stay in mechanical sync from closed to full - the linkage design will not allow it - so how do you set it up - does anyone have a perfect setup I can see - or come and help me set up mine - beer, etc on me! Engine is out so its an easy access :-)

Yes, I am a mechanical engineer and i did do a lot of research on the linkage design!
sean_v8_914
that linkage works just fine. are you sure you got the type 4 version?
sean_v8_914
fdhfdh
sean_v8_914
fgdf
sean_v8_914
xcgds
neil30076
QUOTE(sean_v8_914 @ Apr 12 2009, 08:35 PM) *

that linkage works just fine. are you sure you got the type 4 version?

Sean, i bought this as is, and am now trying to sort it out - it looks like your diagram, the linkage on 3/4 is much longer than 1/2. At idle, they are in sync, at full the 1/2 is 1/8th inch off the end stop.

sean_v8_914
jmhf
sean_v8_914
xcbv
sean_v8_914
here is where they tend to get buggered up. since the carbs are offset left to right, teh linkage can be off angle on one carb. some kits have teh offset built into the cross bar pivot...some dont. the angle on teh down arm from teh lever to carb must be equal in both left/right and fore/aft.

here is one way to correct it
neil30076
Ah, my linkage is on bulkhead side of ending not the transmission side! AKA a VW setup, maybe! It was running fine, except for backfiring on overrun :-)
neil30076
QUOTE(sean_v8_914 @ Apr 12 2009, 08:46 PM) *

here is where they tend to get buggered up. since the carbs are offset left to right, teh linkage can be off angle on one carb. some kits have teh offset built into the cross bar pivot...some dont. the angle on teh down arm from teh lever to carb must be equal in both left/right and fore/aft.