Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Tires spinning on the rim ...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SirAndy
I always mark the race tires right where the valve stem is so i don't have to look for the stem when i'm in a hurry.

We put a new set of tires on the 911 one week ago at Tunderhill and this weekend i noticed that the markings had moved several inches in relationship to the valve stem.
So i marked the stem location again with a small dot and sure enough, after the first run session, the tires had moved again by several inches.

This only seems to happen in the rear, i'm guessing under hard acceleration when the tires are cold (first session in the morning).

Is this something that needs to be addressed or should i not worry about it?
confused24.gif Andy
6freak
Im not a pro but I know that would not sit right with me .....maybe under inflated?Maybe dismount them and rough up the beeds on the wheels? maybe theres rubber built up on that beeds causeing slippage ??...I would say somethings not right ...JMO
Mike
jmill
I've seen it on drag cars. Most screw the tires to the rim. It will mess up your tire balance when it moves. On a race car I'd get it looked at. You don't want to throw a tire at high speeds because it's way out of balance.
jt914-6
That was my first thought too.....it would throw off the balance of the wheel/tire.
anderssj
QUOTE(SirAndy @ Apr 27 2009, 12:55 PM) *

I always mark the race tires right where the valve stem is so i don't have to look for the stem when i'm in a hurry.

We put a new set of tires on the 911 one week ago at Tunderhill and this weekend i noticed that the markings had moved several inches in relationship to the valve stem.
So i marked the stem location again with a small dot and sure enough, after the first run session, the tires had moved again by several inches.

This only seems to happen in the rear, i'm guessing under hard acceleration when the tires are cold (first session in the morning).