Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 brake upgrade questions
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mister T
Hello to those of you in 914 land. This is my first post here so let me give you all a little back story. I'm 31 years old and have been wrenching for 16 years now. While I'm not a professional mechanic (tried it for 3 months and hated it), I eat sleep and breathe cars. My ride at present is a 98 1.8T Passat, AKA. Black Betty (as seen on Passatworld.com)

IPB Image
IPB Image

Anyway, I've recently taken on the task of trying to sell my brother's 914.

IPB Image
IPB Image
Myself
IPB Image
My Girlfriend

I have some experience working on it (I tore the entire drivetrain and rear suspension out). However there are some issues that I need to work out before trying to sell it. the most pressing matter in my mind are the brakes, or lack thereof. I don't know if you can see. However the width and diameter of the tires are overwhelming the capabilities of the stock system. After some searching I think I'm going to do the 320I caliper upgrade. What I'm wondering is whether or not to keep the stock 17mm master cylinder or go to the 19mm master cylinder. There seem to be some differing opinions on the net so I would like to see if I can get some feedback from people who've tried it.
PeeGreen 914
Before you do anything call Eric Shea at http://www.pmbperformance.com

He is very helpful and will save you from spending money on stuff you don't want to. I could tell you more but I am confident that once you talk with Eric you will be lead down the right path and be very happy. beerchug.gif
craig downs
agree.gif
Talk to Eric he will tell you everything you need to know.

BTW welcome.png
Michael N