Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Need some advice
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RonnieJ
Hello to all. I purchased a 75 Bumble Bee and want to convert it to a six. I spoke with Motor Miester on their 2.0 six's and wanted to know if anyone has dealt with them or if you have any other recomendations. I am new to the 914 community, but I do know I want to make this one a six ,she's very solid and looks great too.
(Can you tell I'm a proud papa).
Bleyseng
Welcome and Whoaa, a 75 Bumble Bee? Hmmm, since they only made them in 74 this is interesting. Maybe a copy or ?

Motor Miester doesn't have the best rep in the Porsche world and the conversion are done all the time by someon this board. The correct parts alone cost $4500, oil tank, lines, motormount, flywheel, etc. So when you go cheap thats what you get is cheap.

Installing a 2.0l six is a waste of time in IMHO, atleast a 3.0L or a 3.2 is the way to go. Find one )3.0l or 3.2) out of a wrecked car with low miles (100k) and use that for a six conversion. These motors are going for $3000 to 5000 and shouldn't need any rebuilding until 200k.

If you just want the orginal 110 hp you can get that from a 2.0L four and save alot of money.

Geoff
Joe Bob
Do what you want with the car...it's yours. But it's not a REAL bumblebee if it's a 75.

As to Motor Meister.....do a search here and on pelican parts.com board. You will get an ear/eyeful of horror stories.
RonnieJ
Yea I know, but the color is right and thats what I wanted.
ss6
Hey, Ronnie, congratulations on your find! No worries on the "authenticity" of your bumblebee, converting it to a six is less of a sacrilege rolleyes.gif ! What counts is you found a SOLID specimen dressed up the way you like it.