Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Sportscars at Barbers
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
rwjames
Click to view attachment

Click to view attachment

I drove my Signal Orange 914 to Barber Motorsport Park in Birmingham, Alabama last Saturday for the Sportscars in the Park car show.

Lots of on track action and cars on display including British, Porsche, Lotus, Mercedes and everthing in between.

In addition to this event the Mercedes Benz Club held their Heimatfest and the Lotus club had their 29th annual Lotus Owner's Gathering. There was probably 100 to 150 Lotus cars of all colors.

Here are some pictures.
rwjames
This Lotus was pretty cool. Low to the ground too.
rwjames
This 911RSR replica was beautiful and well done.
rwjames
Lotus anyone?

Yellow and orange were very popular colors.
rwjames
Yellow is faster!
rwjames
This was an odd one.

I'm no Lotus expert, but I've never seen one of these before.

Maybe Steve G. can tell us what it is.
rwjames
A very clean 356.
rwjames
Some historic race cars in attendance.
rwjames
Classic Mercedes SL's in red of course.
rwjames
Several Ferrari's in attendance, including this black Testarossa.
rwjames
A very nice 916 recreation with a 2.7 liter six.
tod914
Beautiful cars. Lotus Eclat.
rwjames
This metallic purple Lotus stood out among all the yellow and orange.
rwjames
One of my all time favorite race cars.
smg914
QUOTE(rwjames @ Jun 2 2009, 07:14 PM) *

This was an odd one.

Its a 1974-1977 Lotus Elite. It had an in line 4 cylinder engine with 140 HP. 4 valves per cylinder with dual overhead camshafts and twin Stromburgs. Steel backbone chassis with a glass fiber reinforced body.
tod914
ah, the two look very simular. I see now that the rear is abit different.
maf914
rwjames,

Thanks for the very nice selection of photos. I like Lotus cars a lot, so I enjoyed those pics.