Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: what is this....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
craig3x
Click to view attachment

what is this (the yellowish bushing thing) and should it be replaced? How do you get it off without damaging it? What else should be replaced when doing a tranny swap? Gaskets I will need? (my clutch is good)
Also, does anyone have pictures of the shift bushings, and where they are located? Sorry, I'm a newb. Thanks!
Gint
It's a bushing thing and should be replaced if it's worn. Is it sloppy on the ball?
craig3x
QUOTE(Gint @ Jun 7 2009, 05:42 PM) *

It's a bushing thing and should be replaced if it's worn. Is it sloppy on the ball?

doesn't seem to be sloppy. Is this the "shifter bushing"? I thought there were more
raw1298
Is that a V8 I see peeking in front of the tranny?
zonedoubt
There's the ball cup one in the photo, the one where the rod goes in the rear (also seen in the photo), and one where the rod goes into the firewall (a bitch to get out).

Read this: http://www.pelicanparts.com/techarticles/9...ift_improve.htm
poorsche914
And don't forget the two in the shift coupler just aft of the firewall. Mine were totally gone when I checked. Added the bushings and the major slop is gone.

IPB Image
Dr Evil