Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Voltmeter
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Ian Stott
Since I now have a lot of stuff working that didn't work before I guess I am going to come up against new "gremlins". The voltmeter acts like a metronome when the turn signals are on, is this normal for a 914 or do I have a problem some where? The voltmeter drops to around 10 volts when the brakes are applied so I wondering if the brake lights draw that much and is all this related?

Ian Stott
Moncton
Canada
SLITS
If your VOM is in the circuit with the blinkers, it is going to cycle as the power is applied and disconnected ... hence the blink and the VOM is reading voltage to the bulb.

I have seen the same voltage drop on a factory guage when applying the brake lights, but then I am not a Factory Engineer so I don't really know the total draw (blubs, fuses, 35 year old wiring, etc).
davesprinkle
This behavior is normal in a 914, because the voltmeter is measuring the voltage at the fuse-panel, thus detecting the voltage drop along the supply wires.

If you really want to fix the problem, run a separate lead back to the battery. You should switch this lead with a relay so that you don't drain the battery when the car is off. Control the relay with the original voltage sense lead.
zonedoubt
That's normal. The only was to get a "true" measure of the battery voltage is to wire it direct to the battery, using a relay to turn it on with the ignition.
zonedoubt
Yeah, what Dave said. biggrin.gif
Ian Stott
Thanks to all who replied, good to know it is normal! I will move on to tackle another issue, running a big power wire from the battery to the front trunk so the stereo guys don't have to go the fuse panel, any pics of what others have done would be helpful and much appreciated.

Ian Stott
jt914-6
I would suggest something like this. A hot feed comes into the block and you can use any amp of ATO fuse you like for whatever you hook up to it.....