Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Rebuilt motor, difficult to hand turn
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SLKWrx
Hi All,

I'm worried that I'm about to be jumped on for this, but here goes anyways, I'm stuck.

So I have this block that I was attempting to rebuild. Being a novice, I bought Jake's video and went to work. I never split the block, it turned by hand and I thought I was good. Everything went on fine. So now it was up to getting to TDC and adjusting the valves... now the motor turns about 5 degrees to either side, but feels like a brick after that. Its still on the engine stand, so i can't turn it too hard, but should it be that hard?

When jake does it, it looks like the engine just spins, when I do it, I get nothing. So whats the deal, do I just need some bigger muscles... or is something up?

There is an old clutch still on it that I was planning to pull, but it spun before all the stuff went on, so I didn't think it was that.

Any suggestions?

Thanks
-- Steve
Millerwelds
There was another recent thread where the pin on the back of the oil pump can create clearance issues with the cam. I see you did not split the case but did you perhaps pull and reinstall the oil pump?
McMark
As a shortblock, the motor should be easy to turn.
When you install the pistons & cylinder it gets a little harder to turn.
When you install the pushrods & rockers it gets more difficult.

Once it's a longblock, you need a fan installed to turn the motor.

But that being said, if it feels solid at any point during the rotation, you need to stop and see what's wrong.

You could have a valve contacting a piston. The important thing is, when was the last time it would turn and what did you install after that.
SLKWrx
Valve contacting a piston... thats possible. I felt like when I put the rockers on that everything was very tight. I'll try loosening up the rockers and see if thats the problem.