Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 2.7 CIS to Carbs - how much HP loss?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Scott S
Hi All -
Got a line on a rebuilt 2.7 out of a 1977 911S. It is 100% complete including the full CIS system. What kind of power loss would I experience if I stripped off the CIS and went with carbs? The motor is only 165hp to begin with...

Thanks!
Scott S
brant
Scott,

I heard about that motor
seemed like a really good deal !

I don't know that you'd loose power
you probably would loose mileage is all
but I'm no CIS expert either.

brant
Cupomeat
I cannot support the following with empirical evidence, BUT;

I would say that you would not lose any peak hp with the switch. You will probably lose a little driveability as the CIS gets you a feedback Lamba circuit (correct me if it doesn't have a O2 sensor) and is more flexible for all kinds of weather.

Also, CIS has a large plate (Read: Restrictor) in the airflow which controls the amount of fuel in the fuel distributor and this has an impact on the pumping losses and efficiency of the engine.

All in all, I'd think you could get about the same peak HP.

That being said, I'd stick with the FI as it will be a better car to drive.
turboman808
From what I have seen on graphs you get peaks and valleys instead of a smooth power curve.
carr914
I would think that you would H.P. & Torque with the switch. 2.7s are fairly low compression motors (remember when they were built - Fuel availability & emissions) and the CIS is made to work with this compression. Without a Cam change to work with the carbs it will suffer. However you can make a 2.7 into a great motor. I expect my 2.7 to put out 225-240HP

T.C.
IronHillRestorations
Why not just keep the CIS?
pcar916