Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: type IV motor specs
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
914rbust
hi folks, I'm new to this computer stuff so bear with me. I've got 1 motor out of my 72 914 -it's definitely 1.8 case Ibuilt it up 20 years ago. The engine #is located near #3.I just acquired 2 type IV motors supposedly out of 79 campers. Engine # on these are located by the oil filler . Haynes says this location indicates 2 liter but my measurements indicate 1.6--66mmx88mm.WTF? Iknow haynes has some terrible flaws lke put #3rod on upsidedown (thats why the guy gave up after 3 rebuilds and sold me the car for$200) but is this engine possible?Haven"t torn the third motor apart yet.A forum at another site says "cb" is a 1.6 this engine #does start with "CB". Any thoughts on this?Why would anyone put a 1.6 in a 79 camper??By the way I lost my old books and am waiting for new ones to be delivered. NO NOT HAYNES! Bently,Muir,any others you guy like.
McMark
All you need to know is here.

EDIT: apparently Tuna had a hardware failure. Try this link temporarily.
914rbust
QUOTE(McMark @ Jul 5 2009, 10:02 AM) *

All you need to know is here.

EDIT: apparently Tuna had a hardware failure. Try this link temporarily.

thanks for the link but it didn't answer the ?
Jake Raby
CB= 1700cc Bus spec engine used in 1972

If they are 79 Bus engine's they'll be GE coded and will have hydro lifters.
Todd Enlund
QUOTE(914rbust @ Jul 5 2009, 09:35 AM) *