Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914: Cost of running compared to 944?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
schlag
Hey, I'm a college student and have a 944. It's actually quite a basket case of a 944 (I was stupid when I bought it, selecting one of the first ones that came along) but I've gotten it into quite good condition. The only thing left is the body restoration and some minor mechanicals.

Anyhow, I was thinking - after I get the 944 into the "near perfect" shape I'm aiming for, would it be prudent to pick up a nice 914 as a 'second car'? I ask, because I'm very tired of borrowing relatives cars when my 944 is down for upgrades or repair. I figure, with a 944 and a 914, at least one will be in working order at any given time smile.gif

I have some other questions.. compared to the 944, how is the 914 on maintenance? It seems like a much simpler design (a good thing). Also, how reliable of a design is it?

I work just shy of full time in the MIS/computer field as well as going to school, and while I don't make a -ton- of money, I make quite a bit more than most college students. Additionally, I commute to school and have no bills.
vortrex
be smart (or lucky) and they can be extremely reliable. like I've said before, I drove my '73 2.0 70 miles a day in bay area traffic for 1.5 years. this included crossing SF with 42 stop lights each way daily and through an el nino winter. it never let me down and I didn't have to do any work other than routine maintenance (tune up, oil, brakes, etc).

just get a SOLID one, something that hasn't had too many hands in it.
schlag
Yes if I were to purchase one it would be have to be solid example; because I am not a masochist, I will never repeat the foolery of purchasing a 'TLC' car again. The 944 purchase has taught me many a lesson.
seanery