Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: rust removal, prep help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Gigamight
Well I am coming along with getting the floors and interior stripped of paint, tar, and rust. However, I am having trouble getting into the tight spots and I'm not sure what to use. Is there a thread that covers this, or can someone give a newb a tip? Specifically, I am having a lot of trouble around the e-brake handle attachment area and where the e-brake cables enter the firewall. I have used a grinder with a wire wheel for almost the whole thing so far and I have made tremendous progress, but now I am stumped on how to proceed.

I have never done anything like this, so I have no experience in this type of thing.

Help...

Tips?

suggestions.....

Please.
VaccaRabite
Knock the scale off and hit it with Metal Ready or OSPHO or some sort of chemical rust converter (not a rust encapsulator).

the converter changes the remaining rust to a new compound that stops it from rusting further, but you have to have the scale off and make sure that everything gets coated.

metal ready and OSPHO are acids that eat away the rust. Some acid compounds have to be washed off or they will also eat the good metal. I *THINK* Metal Ready leaves a lite zink coating - but the last time I used it was 2005.

Zach
Gigamight
The scale is what I am having the hardest time with. I just cant seem to get in there good enough. Is there a better attachment I can use instead of a wire wheel?

BTW, I was looking through your build thread last night, nice car. I like the horns you have showing through the grilles, what are those?
JazonJJordan
The grinder-wire wheel works but is pretty frustrating on anything tight or round.

Vacca Rabite's advise on chemical solutions is effective, just get the right compound and protect yourself (very well-fumes too-).