Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> High HP 914?
d k
post May 3 2011, 10:59 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 13,014
Region Association: None

Hello people.

I'm a noob here, but been around cars for awhile.

Recently acquired a 75 914 that is very clean and going to do the Subaru conversion. Car will be used mostly for track events and some odd miles on the street.

The question that I had, is how does this car respond to high horsepower? In stock form, the EJ257 will put out 300 at the crank and I'm wondering if it makes sense to tweak it a little more....

I've seen a few conversions done here and read through a ton of threads. Some very helpful info here, but I haven't read anybody's feedback on what the chassis will do if throw 500hp at it? Besides all the supporting mods necessary to handle the power, what will the driving dynamics be??
Maybe it's not worth to do anything except just the engine swap, but since it's going to get a full cage, big brakes and aero, maybe go big (IMG:style_emoticons/default/driving.gif)

David
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Jaymann
post May 3 2011, 11:22 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 10,692

Sounds really expensive ,buy one already done for less than half.Save yourself alot of time and money.Ballpark, for what you are describing ,you are looking at over 30,000.Jake sold a real sweet car here with 140 h.p. for under 9,000 that was good to go,and I am sure it was pretty fast too.So, do you wanna drive, or do you want a hobby??? Are you a race car driver???Jason
+Quote Post