Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Caliper help!, Sizes and upgrades
camgraves3113
post Jan 9 2018, 09:56 PM
Post #1

Graves31

Group: Members
Member No.: 21,773
Region Association: None

I just had a question, as i am new to my 1973 porsche 2.0 914. I am 18 and sorry if this is a dumb question but what size calipers can i buy and how do i know of they fit? I dont wamt the stock calipers and i would love to find a brembo or wilwood pair that fits the brackets and improve braking power. Again i am sorry if this is simple and dumb but i cant find/understand what i have read on this specific topic so far. Thank you so much (IMG:style_emoticons/default/piratenanner.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 19)
mepstein
post Jan 9 2018, 10:20 PM
Post #2

914-6 GT in waiting

Member No.: 10,825
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region

Stock front struts really only fit stock 914 calipers. Look for 911 struts with 3 1/2' spacing if you really want/need to go bigger. You will also need 911 hubs which means five lug wheels. If you really want to do the big brake thing front and back, plan on a couple grand $.

Stock brakes are actually really good if you have a stock car. Make sure everything is in good shape and use good pads.

there are a couple other front calipers that fit on 914-4 but offer very little in "upgrade factor"
+Quote Post
914Sixer
post Jan 9 2018, 10:32 PM
Post #3

914 Guru

Member No.: 3,457
Region Association: Southwest Region