Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Swaping a 2.0 for the 1.7, What hangups should I expect?
aircooledboy
post Apr 1 2004, 04:04 PM
Post #1

Sweet Pea's 1st ride in daddy's "vroom -vroom"

Group: Members
Member No.: 1,629
Region Association: Upper MidWest

Hey everybody,

Newbie here. I have lurked her for a long time, and learned some great stuff from some amazingly knowledgeable folks. I signed up in february, but this is my virgin post, so be gentle with me, and maybe give me a little cuddle when we are through. I was infected with 914ism when I bought my first 914 "Swiss Cheese Edition" when I was 16 (that was 24 years ago??? AHHHHHH!!!). I have owned 5 drivers on and off over the years , and currently have a very nice 72 with a stock 1.7 that I have had as my summer toy for 4 years.

Recently I picked up a very well running 75 stock 2.0 after the guy driving it said I was full of shit when I told him he really needed to address his very rusty rear suspension counsol mounts before they gave way. Well, shockingly the passenger side gave way. So, now I own it as well as his 2 parts cars. I intend to swap the 2.0 for my 1.7. I know that the 75 is not as desirable as the earlier 2.0, but it is still more HP than my 1.7, so (IMG:style_emoticons/default/aktion035.gif) in she goes.