Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> D-jet FI and air box: Is this a problem?, Two questions: Is this right? And how to adjust air/fuel mixture?
tumamilhem
post Mar 2 2013, 10:49 AM
Post #1

LUFTBRIGADE

Group: Members
Member No.: 15,092
Region Association: South East States

This is my first D-jet FI on a 914. My first 914 was a single carb and my second had the L-jet (which I liked because it was easy to manually adjust the air/fuel mixture).

First question:
In cleaning and detailing my engine, I noticed the housing on the fuel box simply came right off the _______ opening (sorry, I'm not a mechanic. Seems like a carb opening for air, but you guys will know from the pics). Shouldn't this be secured? Seems to me that a lot of air would be leaking from this. It sits on the housing, but not securely and not completely (off to the side a bit). I wrapped some Gorilla tape around it to secure it to see if it made a difference, but my car was driving shaky anyway, so I can't tell. Is this supposed to be secured or does it not matter? One mechanic told me not to worry about it. Seems like a poor design to me.

Attached Image

Attached Image

Second question: