Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Bolt in race trailing arms, R&D
BMXerror
post Dec 3 2006, 01:57 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 5,842

Hey all. I've been with the club for a bit, but I'm new to the Paddock. I would like to do some racing, hopefully by next year sometime (money is the limiting factor of course). Anyway's, my brother who does various forms of fabrication and I are designing a set of trailing arms with adjustability for toe-in and camber built in. After shortly browsing the Paddock, I found that people are doing this for their own cars already, but nobody seems to sell them.
To the point, my brother and I were thinking of prototyping with my car, and then producing them for sale once we get the product all sorted out. Before we invest in that, however, I want to know if this is something that people would be interested in. We have to know that there's a market, if only a small one, for these before we start producing them.
Our idea was to have something that can just be bolted up in the stock mounting points for simplicity. They'd be made from watercut and boxed flatbar, and they'd probably be drilled and dimple-died for lightweight and strength. As previously stated, they'd have full camber and toe adjustment built in, but would probably be set to factory spec by us for simplicity's sake. We'd have them powdercoated as well.