Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Suspension Suggestions, I have searched, but, looking for more specific info
jetboy
post May 21 2008, 08:50 PM
Post #1

914 Uber Noob

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,810
Region Association: Southern California

First off, I am a 914 and a mechanic NooBie. I am more used to my suspension on my heavy 4dr hatchback and trying to get the teener to handle closer to or better than my daily driver (toyota matrix).

I recently bought my first 914 and its a '73 1.7l. Its as far as i can tell just stock suspension without sways. Doesn't appear to really have any sagging, so, i don't really see much that is worn out (again, i know little about working on cars so i wouldn't really know how to tell if it was worn out). It is sitting on 195/60 15 touring tires (pretty flexy sidewalls). With this settup i notice some "floating" when jerking the steering wheel back and forth in a straight line and body roll with the rear end breaking loose at about 55mph on a 30mph turn (best way i can gauge the handling).

Now my question.