Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> engine trouble?, where to go to diagnose.
DRPHIL914
post Nov 2 2010, 09:03 AM
Post #1

Dr. Phil

Group: Members
Member No.: 11,106
Region Association: South East States

J (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif) Bad news! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/headbang.gif)
saturday something gave out or blew out. Don't know what. At first it sounded like a exhaust leak louder on acceleration, letting of at first seemed ok then got louder. Im no engine mechanic but it I a valve and/or piston problem. Very specifically from the right side. I think rear cylinder.
I am in beaufort sc so need to find someone close.
I put new s.s.h.e. with triad exhaust on 1500 miles ago no problems it is not an exhaust leak. More of a clank (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif)

So it is a 75 2.0 with 130,000 d jet had been running great. Last 3tanks got 32-35 mpg! No leaks and oil use. I've had 1 year. If I have to take this apart I think I want something like. The 2056? Upgrade cam thing like jake rang does. So jake how much? For simple upgrade cam with valve.piston. head don't know yet but I thought it was running great. I do not drive it hard. Just became a d.d. to/ from work.
I do not have the ability to lift high enough to drop the engine myself.
any advice on where to take it? 5 horst from atlanta, 4 from charlolette n.c.

Help!
Phil
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
dr914@autoatlanta.com
post Nov 2 2010, 09:07 AM
Post #2

914 Guru

Member No.: 7,418
Region Association: None